Scottish Shortbread- brown sugar makes a world of difference

I was desperate to find a receptacle for my new found love Nutella.  I never gave it a chance, and now it is one of my favorite once in a while treats. I have added it to Rice Krispy treats, on a waffle with bananas, whipped in heavy cream and plopped on chocolate mousse and tonight on a little square of shortbread. Warm shortbread.  Melty Nutella. I am not a fan of hazelnuts, except for Nutella and the candied hazelnuts at Sunshine Tavern.

When I want to bake something cookie like and easy I go for shortbread. It is very forgiving, very rich and very simple. I mixed 2 sticks of soft unsalted butter, a half cup of brown sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla and 2 cups plus a little more flour. Mixed it well and pressed it into a circle, about 1/4 inch thick, and baked it at 325 for about 22 minutes. Oh wait, pricked it all over with a fork.

Divine, in a word.

About cheflaury

food writer, recipe developer, animal rescuer, cook, baker, View all posts by cheflaury

Leave a Reply

