there’s something about flan

I have two favorite desserts. Trifle and flan. Somewhat similar, both custards of a sort. The trifle is versatile and much easier than people think, and actually one can be prepared in fifteen minutes. For real.  They are very nice to look at and you can buy a trifle bowl at Kohls for 15 bucks.  A few years ago there was a trifle bowl sale and I bought about 12 of them. It was a perfect holiday gift, trifle bowl included. They were under 10 bucks each!

Flan is not hard, but you do need to master the caramelized sugar. It was daunting for me at first, but now I do it in ten minutes, sugar only, and I control the darkness of the caramel by adjusting the flame and cooking time. I tried something this weekend and it worked out quite well. I caramelized the sugar and poured it into 8 small ramekins. I immediately added sliced bananas to the not yet hardened caramel. After about 20 minutes I poured the custard over the bananas and baked them in a water bath.  When I unmolded them it was a lovely upside down banana flan. The flavors were great together.  I might try it next with grilled pineapple. Very good dessert.

About cheflaury

food writer, recipe developer, animal rescuer, cook, baker, View all posts by cheflaury

One response to “there’s something about flan

Leave a Reply

